Last year I read The Silent Land by Graham Joyce. The reader part of me enjoyed the book. The premise was simple, compelling, and made me want to finish. The writer part of me thought the prose was inconsistent and often clunky. In the end, I felt the book was okay.

Nevertheless, it helped me realize a very important truth: Unlike writers, readers have only “one part” to satisfy. What I mean by that is, Writers must wrestle with the technical details of a story while trying to enjoy it. Readers only want to enjoy it. To lose sight of this dynamic is to lose sight of our ultimate aim.

Are Writers Too Insulated from Their Readers? | Rachelle Gardner.

Leave a Reply

