The main reason I didn’t submit before is that I watched people around me go through what seemed to be a really hellish submittal process.  Rejections tainted entire days.  Being told “no” over and over took  huge emotional tolls on people I loved.  I watched them gather their courage to put their work out there, get rejected, and crumble — and then I watched them do this over and over again.  Frankly, no part of this looked fun to me.

That’s when I decided to look at it differently.  The honest truth about my submittal process is this: I don’t expect it to be fun.  I don’t expect to get emotionally invested in the slightest way.  I recognize it as a numbers game and I play it as such.

What does that mean?  It means that when I submit a story that gets rejected, I spend not even a second feeling bad about it.  I simply send it to the next place on my list.  It’s analytical.  It’s logical.  It has nothing to do with emotions or anything personal.  It’s strictly numerical.

Read more at Krissymick: My Moneyball Manuscripts.

Leave a Reply

